The Indiana sex offender registry is a database of information about convicted sex offenders in Indiana. The sex offender registry is currently maintained and utilized by local law enforcement to monitor and track sex offenders in the area. Some of the information in the sex offender in Indiana registry is publicly available. No matter what, if you are a sex offender, registration requirements will literally affect the rest of your life. Do you have questions about Indiana sex offender registration requirements? Call Indiana sex crime attorney, The Law Office of Jesse K. Sanchez at (317) 743-0771 today!
Sex Offender Registry History
The term that is used for the laws that require a state keep a public registry of sex offenders is called Megan’s Law. On July 27, 2006, the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was signed into law. The Adam Walsh law was designed to organize sexual offenders into 3 tiers. SORNA, also known as a Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act provides a comprehensive set of minimum standards for sex offender registration and notification in the United States. Executed at a federal level, the law requires convicted sex offenders (where the victim is a minor) to contact local police of changes of address or employment after release from prison or a psychiatric facility.
Indiana Sex Offender Registry Requirements
According to IC §11-8-8-7, sex offenders in Indiana are required to register 3 days for their initial registration. If an offender is visiting the state, then they are required to register within 3 days if the offender is in the state of Indiana for a period of 7 days in a 180-day period. A visiting sexual offender is also required to register if they plan to work in the state for 7 consecutive days or 14 aggregate days/yr.
Indiana law IC §11-8-8-12 clearly states that transients or “temporary residents” in transitional housing must register every 7 days. So, if an offender is homeless, they are required to register every 7 days.
Depending on the level of sexual offense, the offender must register for 10 years to life. Sexual offenders that are registered as “violent” offenders are required to update the Sheriff’s department every 90 days. All other types of sexual offenders must update the Sheriff’s department on an annual basis. IC §11-8-8-14.
Facing Sex Offender Registration Requirements? Call Us.
As you can see life as a convicted sex offender is not a life of convenience in the least! It’s important that you retain a sex crime lawyer to help defend against your sex crime arrest. When you need a defense attorney to fight for your rights, call us at 317-721-9858 today.